Buttered Dab with Prawns and Capers.

I have mixed feelings on this dish.

What a way to start a recipe post, eh?

IMG_1983

Mum bought some fresh fish from the fishmongers; dab. Have you ever had dab? I hadn’t until this dish. And it’s a delicate yet tasty white fish. I enjoyed it…

IMG_1982

BUT my goodness it’s boney! I can’t stand having to fish out the bones out of my meal, it’s so much effort. I just want to eat, not work!

IMG_1981

So this is where the mixed feelings come from. The taste of this dish is spectacular, but if you, like me, have an aversion to bones, maybe swap for a boneless haddock or other white fish!

Ingredients:

1 fresh white fish

huge knob of butter

100g cooked prawns

2 Tbsp. capers

baby spinach (optional)

Heat the butter over medium heat until it’s bubbly. Add the fish skin side down (if it’s got skin) then cook for 3-4 minutes. Flip it over and add the prawns and capers. Check the fish is cooked – add more butter if you fancy it. Serve over a bed of baby spinach.

Leave a Reply

