Oat Crusted Potato Cakes with Bacon.

Finally! Bootcamp restarts tomorrow!

It’s only been a week since the last one finished and, guess what, I’ve done basically no exercise since. Uh oh. My trainer will kill me!

IMG_1815

What I have done however is gorge myself on carbs. Mainly potatoes. Oh how I love a potato! Jacket potato, mashed potato, cheesy mash… I pick on them at work (mainly new potatoes which I then smother in butter) or live off a jacket potato with tuna for lunch. Starting to turn into Mr. Potato Head I fear!

IMG_1813

So my challenge (on top of bootcamp) is to TOTALLY give up white, floury potatoes. I will still allow myself sweet potatoes mainly because mum rarely buys them and because they are much healthily (lower GI, high in iron, magnesium etc). But this will be tough.

IMG_1814

So here it is! My last potato recipe before hell-on-earth starts tomorrow in the form of a potato-less world for me. Although I may have a jacket potato for dinner..

Ingredients for 2:

1 medium-large floury potato

1 Tbsp. flour (I used GF)

about 75g gluten free rolled oats (not instant)

4 rashers bacon

salt and pepper

rapeseed oil

Start by boiling the potato in salted water for about 15 minutes, or until tender. Drain and mash. Add in the flour and 2 Tbsp. oats. Season and mix. Place some oats in a bowl. Shape the potatoes into rounds and dip each side into the oat bowl to cover – you may just need to press on the oats for them to stick. Heat about 2 Tbsp. oil over a medium heat and add the potatoes. After about 2 minutes, flip them then get your bacon going. Serve up with a healthy dollop of ketchup.

IMG_1810

Leave a Reply

