Tuna and Spring Onion Fishcakes.

I am so behind the times.

IMG_1697

Literally, I should be in my 80s or something (she writes whilst wearing a pink fluffy dressing gown). I have ONLY JUST discovered how many amazing apps there are for my iPhone! The basics obviously, but you can get travel apps, shopping apps and, wait for it, food apps! On my super long train journey yesterday, I did a very good job of updating my phone with the app freebies. So this is inspired by the M&S free foodie app. Oh I can tell I’ll have fun with these..

IMG_1698

Ingredients for two: (about 320 calories each)

4 spring onions, sliced finely

185g tin of tuna

2 medium sized potatoes, peeled, boiled and mashed

pinch of chilli flakes

plain flour (I used gluten free)

1 egg, beaten

bowl of breadcrumbs (again, I used Schärs gluten free)

rapeseed oil

In a bowl, combine the mashed potato, tinned tuna and spring onions.

IMG_1692

Season with salt, pepper and chilli flakes. Divide in half (for two portions) and shape into patties.

IMG_1693

Get your stations ready! In one bowl place flour, in another the egg and the last the breadcrumbs. Dip the patty in the flour first to coat, then the egg and finally the breadcrumbs. Repeat until all the patties look like fishcakes.

IMG_1694

Heat the rapeseed oil on medium heat and add the fishcakes.

IMG_1695

Cook for 3-4 minutes either side, then serve up with a nice side salad.

IMG_1696

 

IMG_1699

Leave a Reply

