Caramelised Pork Medallions with an Apricots and Pecan Sauce.

I can honestly say I think this is the longest recipe title on this site!

Yesterday I had the journey from hell. I’d been visiting my bestie in Manchester for Pride weekend, and left yesterday, but every single one of my trains was delayed. EXCEPT the last one. So I had to get another train miles away and basically I was sitting on a train for about 5 hours. It was not enjoyable, especially not with a cracking hangover.

IMG_1691

On the journey back mum said we were having pork tenderloin for dinner and asked to make a sauce. Not being able to have gravy, I decided to make a (super healthy… not) cream sauce. This might not be great for your figure, but trust me your mouth will thank you for it!

Ingredients:

500g pork loin

butter

light brown sugar

150ml double cream

handful of dried apricots, halved

handful of pecans

Cook your pork loin in the oven at 180C for about 40 minutes, or until cooked. Take it out and slice it up. Rub light brown sugar over these slices and heat the butter in a large frying pan over a medium heat. Place the pork in the pan and cook on one side for 3-4 minutes, until it starts to caramelise.

IMG_1685

Turn it over and add in the apricots and pecans.

IMG_1688

At the last moment throw in the cream and stir.

IMG_1689

This will caramelise very quickly so be careful for it not to burn. Serve up – I like it with roasted veggies and cauliflower mash.

IMG_1690

Leave a Reply

