No Bake Quinoa Flapjack Bars.

It was my bootcamp again yesterday, and I needed a boost. Being ill last week I’d missed two sessions, I was really worried I’d be behind, fitness-wise, so I decided to make a flapjack to give me that edge – with a bit of chocolate in, of course. This isn’t low cal, but there’s nothing overly bad in it either, so as long as you eat it in moderation this can be considered fairly healthy (in my eyes..).

IMG_1383

These bars are best chilled as the quinoa can crumble and then these would no longer be flapjack-esque. And I apologise now, the recipe uses American cups as I am now obsessed with my Tala Measuring Cone and it really does make things simpler to use cups instead of grams!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups old fashioned gluten-free oats

1 cup cooked quinoa, cooled

1 cup raw almonds, chopped haphazardly (isn’t that a fun word?)

1/2 cup golden flaxseed

sprinkle of salt

as many chocolate chips as you fancy!

1/3 cup honey

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

1 Tsp. vanilla extract

Melted chocolate, for drizzling (optional)

Combine the oats, quinoa, almonds, flaxseed, salt and chocolate chips in a bowl. Add in the honey, coconut oil and vanilla extract and really mix. Pour the mixture into a lined tin and really press down to compact it all. Leave to chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours, or, if you can’t wait that long, put it in the freezer for 30 minutes like I did.

IMG_1384

Leave a Reply

