Lemon and Garlic Chicken.

I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather recently. Kind of like a man flu thing; I’m exhausted and just want to sleep. On top of that, I’ve got a nasty chesty cough which is keeping me up all night (probably why I’m exhausted) and I keep going hot to cold (although the weather can’t make up it’s mind either so I don’t know if it’s just me!). Maybe a little more than man flu perhaps..

IMG_1249

Anyway, duty called and I had to make dinner. I love cooking, but when you just want to slump it can feel like a burden. This recipe however is so simple you could do it in your sleep! And then at the end of it you get a fabulously juicy, tasty chicken dish – perfect with a simple side salad for summer.

I go on the basis of 2 chicken thighs per person, and 1 lemon per person, so it’s easy to double up if needs be.

Ingredients for 4:

8 chicken thighs, skin on, bone in

4 lemons, quartered

2 bulbs of garlic

salt and pepper

rapeseed oil

oregano

Preheat your oven to 180C and tear up the garlic bulb. Don’t bother peeling them – they’ll caramelise and you can squeeze out the lovely garlic over the chicken when it’s cooked. Grease your roasting tin with oil and place your thighs (not YOUR thighs, silly) in the middle. Surround with the lemon and throw the garlic willy nilly around the dish. Add a good glug of oil.

IMG_1247

Season the dish with salt and pepper and cover the chicken with oregano. Place the dish in the oven for about 30 minutes, then serve up. Remember to squeeze the lemon and garlic all over the chicken!

IMG_1251

 

 

Leave a Reply

