Meatloaf.

When I was younger, I could never get my head around the idea of meatloaf – a loaf of meat? That seems bizarre (and not overly appealing!). And I had one once in England – it was dry and bland and boring. So when my step mum offered to cook it for me I wasn’t massively overjoyed – but by heck it was amazing! Moist and tasty, it was the complete opposite of the one I’d had in England – and I’ve been wanting to replicate it ever since! I’ve been pestering her for the recipe and I got it! When I go back to visit, this will definitely be top of the “To Eat” list – it’s just a shame she’s such a good cook, I’ll never be able to eat everything in her repertoire!

IMG_1235

This is moreish and oh-so-American. If you, like me, thought American meatloaf was boring, this will blow your mind. I apologise now for the photos – I’ve made this twice now and both lots of photos are just awful. Just trust me – with this you don’t have to eat with your eyes!

Ingredients (to serve 6):

1kg beef mince (or use 500g veal mince if you’re feeling fancy)

1 celery stalk, sliced

1 tin of tomatoes

1 onion, diced

1 pepper, diced

2 eggs, hard boiled

1 egg, beaten

1 mugful of breadcrumbs

1-2 Tsp. each of garlic powder, oregano and thyme

1 Tbsp. worcester sauce

1 Tbsp. ketchup

5-6 slices bacon or pancetta (enough to cover your loaf)

olive oil

To start with, sauté the onion, celery and pepper on a medium heat with the olive oil.

IMG_1216

Once the onion is translucent, transfer mix into a bowl and add in the beef mince, breadcrumbs, herbs, tin of tomatoes, ketchup, worcester sauce and beaten egg. Shape into meatloaf shape, add the 2 hardboiled eggs to the centre of it and leave to chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours.

IMG_1222

 

Preheat the oven to 180C. Get your meatloaf out of the fridge, squirt over some more ketchup on the top and add the rashers of bacon. Cook for 30-40 minutes, then enjoy!

IMG_1231

 

IMG_1232

Be warned – it goes quickly!

 

Leave a Reply

