Huevos rancheros.

Another breakfast recipe, sorry!

I think if I could live off breakfast dishes I would.. I woke up this morning not only with a cracker of a hangover but with a real craving for Coco Pops. Now Coco Pops isn’t normally the sort of thing I eat (so much sugar first thing in the morning!) but my god did I want a huge bowl of it! I could have cried when I went downstairs and found we had none. NONE. Then again, who can prepare for these random cravings?!

I was also out of my almond milk, so cereal was pretty much out of the question, I polished off my gluten free bread (https://fatbitchlovesfood.wordpress.com/2014/07/19/gluten-free-low-carb-bread/) in my drunken state, and couldn’t find my avocado anywhere. Why is it when you really want to eat, the food gods just throw every challenge your way? Ugh. What we did have in however were eggs, tinned tomatoes and peppers – huevos rancheros it is. And I tell you – the chilli has really started to minimise my hangover! Oh I’m getting old..

IMG_0304

Huevos rancheros is a classic Mexican breakfast dish, but it’s substantial enough for lunch or even supper. Serve it with tortillas and guacamole for a really authentic meal! If you have none in, I suggest toast – you need something to mop up the juices!

Ingredients for one:

10g butter

1/2 red onion, peeled and finely chopped

1/2 red pepper, deseeded and sliced

1 clove of garlic, finely chopped

good pinch of cayenne pepper

1 Tsp. cumin

salt and pepper

1/2 tin chopped tomatoes

good pinch of caster sugar (granulated works too)

1 egg

grated cheese – as much as you fancy!

Method:

Melt the butter in a large frying pan on a medium heat. Add the onion, pepper, garlic, cayenne pepper and cumin and season with salt and pepper. Cook for about 8 minutes, stirring occasionally until the onions are translucent.

Stir in the tinned tomatoes and sugar and cook for a further 5 minutes.

IMG_0301

Using a spoon, make a well in the centre and crack an egg into it. Cover the pan with a lid and cook until the egg has set, about 3 minutes.

IMG_0302

Grate over your cheese, replace the lid for a few seconds so that the cheese gets all gooey, then serve up.

IMG_0303

IMG_0305

One thought on “Huevos rancheros.

Leave a Reply

