Avocado and Poached Egg on Toast.

Yesterday I started a 6 week bootcamp called Xtreme Inch Loss Challenge.. It was as terrifying as it sounds. Basically, I woke up this morning feeling like I’d jumped out of a 40 storey building – I ache SO much! But, as the saying goes, “Sore today, Strong tomorrow”. The one problem with that saying is that I’m back at the bootcamp tomorrow, so it’s just going to be a continuous sore sensation I feel!

As part of this challenge, we were also told to give up something for these six weeks. Most people chose chocolate or cake, but my weakness is chips. Deep fried, golden bites of heaven… Stop me! And with working in a kitchen, it’s very easy to pop them into my gob. But I have to resist! I made the decision, therefore, to try a clean eating thing – there’s no point slogging it at this bootcamp if I’m just going to come home and pig out on unhealthy foods. No, this is not a diet (it’s too easy to fall off the diet wagon!), it’s just a good food, clean food sort of thing.

So here’s my first clean eating recipe and meal! Keep tuned for the next 6 weeks, let’s hope this exercise and good food combination work!

IMG_0790

This was just my breakfast, so not overly difficult (who wants difficult first thing in the morning?!):

For one:

1 slice gluten free bread

1/2 avocado, mashed

1 egg

dash of apple cider vinegar

Chilli flakes

Salt and pepper

My foolproof method for poaching an egg!

Boil some water on a high/medium heat, until it’s on a rolling boil. Add a dash of apple cider vinegar (this will stop the egg from splitting whilst in the water) and swirl the water around in one direction. Crack the egg in the water – it’ll swirl along with the water. When the egg has risen to the top, it’s poached to perfection!

IMG_0786

Toast the bread (get this toasting once you’ve added the egg to the water, but before it’s cooked), and smother on the avocado.

Top with the poached egg and a sprinkling of chilli flakes to kickstart your metabolism! Serve with a green tea and salt and pepper, and know that this is good for you!

IMG_0789

IMG_0792

 

Leave a Reply

